Just Some Thoughts: Fears and Hopes


Tomorrow will mark my 13th week of pregnancy and the last week of the first trimester. Gosh time flies does’t it? It seems to have certainly picked up in the days that I found out that I am pregnant mid September. I understand my own mother telling me, “Before you turn around, a year will have passed.” And, the older I get the more I realize what all the moms try to tell you – they know better.

There have been quite a bit of ups and downs, as expected. Soon I’ll be feeling the flutters of first kicks and a rounding out belly that I am looking forward to so much (I have an obsession with a pregnant belly and now I will have one of my own).

I can’t wait to meet this little one, G-d willing, but I am not rushing things by any means. After all, there are a lot of preparations to take place in a very short amount of time. If there is anything to put some fire under your butt it’s definitely a bun in the oven with the timer set to May, 2014.

With only a taste of the fears I have, I am in complete awe with a new (and I am sure to be continually growing) admiration for the strength and courage of the singer mother. There are so many things to think about, especially for those of us that find ourselves single and pregnant: the baby of course, finances, support, career, the balancing of time, and raising a well rounded and good human being to become a part of our society.

Are you a single mom that has captured a beautiful balance in her life and the life of her baby? Well, if you have a moment, won’t you share with newbies like me?

Leave a Reply

