So These Buggers Affect My Brain – Live Mood Enhancers


The Geek Inside Me.

Apparently there is a lot of that happening these days.

Yogurt: Microbes

Goes well with your brain.

As you get to know me, you’ll get to know my geeky tendencies (of which I am totally proud). One of those tendencies takes form in my love for NPR and the public radio station WNYC or 93.5 fm. When I say love, I mean it is the only set radio station in my car. Okay, okay I lie. The other one is the PA version of that one and the same station just in case there is a boring (happens very little) conversation taking place. In case you’re wondering, I love the information, news, cool topics on science (Science Friday), technology (Car Talk) and other sweet bits that I would, less than likely, come across anywhere else.

This is How I learn Around my World.

Today’s lesson was on microbes and their effect on the brain.

Could the microbes that inhabit our guts help explain that old idea of “gut feelings?” There’s growing evidence that gut bacteria really might influence our minds.

Rob Stein (NPR)

So the next time you grab a yogurt, just think: your stomach could be telling your brain how to act. Here is the full article from, you guessed it, NPR.org: Gut Bacteria Might Guide The Workings Of Our Minds

Preggers Mood Savers and Other Benefits of Microbes

Of course, before I could partake in this, I had to do the ‘pregnancy research’. G-d bless this time I live in – the time of Google. And Google confirms that there is no ill linkage between these organisms and pregnancy issues. In fact, there are quite a bit of benefits especially for expectant mothers!

Probiotics in Sourcream

Look for “conians live & active cultures” on your products.

Here are the top five:

  1. helps with digestion
  2. better immune system
  3. prevent allergies
  4. lower rates of gestational diabetes
  5. women who drank probiotic fortified milk during pregnancy had half the incidence of eczema as those whose moms drank regular milk

These beneficial microbes can be found in yogurt, kefir (and us Russians love some kefir with black bread), and even… wait for it… sauerkraut!!! Remember yesterday’s post? I had no idea the connection until today. G-d is good, ain’t he?

Off to the store I go for more sauerkraut and kefir.

Sources:

Leave a Reply

